The Great Onion Experiment

Ever since I read Monica’s post in TheYummyLife.com I’ve been curious. It said that storing onions, garlic, and shallots in punched paper bags can keep them fresh for months. And that onions stored like this will still be fresh and firm after 3 months! Of course I had to try this for myself to see if it works. So today I started The Great Onion Experiment. I made a note of the date I bought and bagged my onions right on the bags, so I can remember when three months have elapsed.

thegreatonionexpiramentEDIT after 3 months I checked my onions. Half were firm and good, half were moldy and unusable. I can not say that this technique works 100 percent of the time. It probably works better in cooler climates. My garage can get very warm at certain parts of the year in Southern California.

Leave a Reply

